Lying Season

Posted March 31, 2014 by The Book & Alcohol Girls in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Buy the Book

I received this book for free from the author or publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lying Season Book Cover Lying Season
Experiment in Terror
Karina Halle
Metal Blonde Books
December 13, 2011

Amateur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has battled ghosts, fought off skinwalkers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she survive bunking down in Seattle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girlfriend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tormented by a malicious spirit from Dex's increasingly shady past? With love and life in the balance, Perry must discover the truth among the lies or risk losing everything she's ever cared about.

“Everyone has ghosts that follow them throughout their lives. Ghosts of the past they wish they’d left behind, ghosts of love they once turned down, ghosts of regret and ghosts of loss. Ghosts of guilt. We all have them. I do.” 

I am in love with this series. In love with Perry and Dex. In love with the honesty of their characters. In love with the support characters. In love with them all.

In this chapter of Experiment in Terror, we finally get some answers, or information, I should say. We get background on both Perry and Dex; some things we didn’t even know we needed.

The EIT team is back at it and exploring a mental hospital in Seattle. To the surprise of the Shownet Crew, there is now competition popping up to give Dex and Perry and run for their money. In addition this issue, while in Seattle for the filming, Perry will be staying with Dex and his longtime girlfriend, Jenn. It’s a big week for everyone between the filming, the intimacy of rooming together and the Shownet crew finally all meeting Perry at the Christmas party.

Perry showed tremendous courage in this story. She is always a tough cookie when it comes to battling ghosts and the paranormal, but she has become quite a gal when it comes to fighting for her feelings and what she wants.

Oh! And the Dex and Perry thing? Well, you’ll just have to read it.Their chemistry is still off the charts, but at the end of the book, my jaw was dropped!!!

“I want you to stay with me,” he said. “And that’s the problem. Every time you leave me, I need you a little bit more.” 

We we’re offered a new layer to Dex too, so many details coming to light and new questions to ask and have answered in upcoming books. I feel like I understand so much more about his “issues” but I now have thousand new questions I need answered… like now. 

“Dex isn’t a big guy by any means. He’s on the short side and toned but still thin. But he has unpredictable pit-bull tactics and one hell of a lippy attitude with strangers. For heaven’s sake, never give that man a shovel.” 

The Creep factor? Once again, off the charts! I was scared to death and wonderfully creeped out by the forces they faced during this story. The fascinating part the puzzle pieces of their pasts seem to be explaining the haunts of their present. This is Hitchcock scary. The kind of scary that make you think and question humanity as much as the supernatural. I was as equally scared of what wasn’t as of what was. 

Karina Halle is a master storyteller and with each story I read, she just gets better and better. This book is a game changer. I rode waves of emotions from fear to excitement to anger and anguish to giddiness and joy and heart stopping concern. I felt this while they encountered the supernatural as well as each other. And at times, I didn’t know which obstacles were more dangerous. 

Upon completing this book, I immediately HAD to start the next. There was no option. I needed to know the answers to all the new questions this book asked. I never expected the ride this series has taken me on, but I’m thrilled that I hoped on. I trusted the Karina Halle name after reading The Artists Trilogy and I was right. She is a can’t miss author. 

I give this book 5 stars and a shot of jäger in honor of Rebecca, a new favorite character. 😉 

Buy the Experiment in Terror Series:

Darkhouse #1

Red Fox #2

The Benson #2.5

Dead Sky Morning #3

Lying Season #4

On Demon Wings #5

Old Blood #5.5

The Dex-Files #5.7

Into the Hollow #6

And With Madness Comes the Light #6.5

Come Alive #7

Ashes to Ashes #8

Dust to Dust #9


Leave a Reply